Frozen Nougat

The most demanding of my dessert projects has been a frozen nougat from David Lebovitz’s Ready for Dessert. This was probably the most fun I’ve had making a dessert, as it entailed caramel making, candying fruit, and beating egg whites until they’re light fluffy and sweet. Yes, these are things I genuinely enjoy. No, I’m not apologizing for it.

Onward:


first I made the praline


then I whipped the sugar solution (essentially molten honey) into soft-peaked egg whites, resulting in this sexy thing, a.k.a. French meringue


pistachios, orange zest, candied orange (which I made the day before) and orange flower water. isn’t it gorgeous?


more importantly, it was delicious – balanced, complex, a decidedly adult dessert that tasted like Italy.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Frozen Nougat

  1. bqg says:

    More chicken nugget posts!

Leave a Reply

