French Pastry School

In late June/early July, I had the privilege of going to a weeklong Breads and Breakfast Pastries class at the French Pastry School in downtown Chicago. If you know me, you’ve probably already guessed that this was a fantasy camp for me. You’d be guessing correctly.

This class made me feel like I knew nothing about bread, and that’s the best thing I could have asked for. Nothing like feeling like a beginner to open up your mind.

Here’s a sampling of the things we made:

DSC00900
beignets

DSC00928
kugelhopf

DSC00910
french bread

DSC00938
multigrain sourdough

DSC00942
sourdough

DSC00936
brioche

IMG_0606
lemon poundcake, toast bread

DSC00865
beer bread

DSC00871
banana bread

DSC00926
challah

Many of these recipes were of a production scale, so we ended up brining a ton of stuff home. Needless to say, the neighbors were very happy.

Aside from the science and techniques, I learned a lot about myself that week. A couple months earlier, I had been offered a pastry internship at a very high-end Chicago restaurant. I did not take it, as I was working 40 hours a week and the internship would have been unpaid. After I left my job, I was kicking myself for not taking the position. This class made me realize that while I absolutely love baking and pastry, it’s not something I want to do for a living. Baking is zen for me, and I would never want to spoil that.

All in all, a very fun week.

Also I got a new desktop blogging client so I will be updating regularly.

I swear.

No really, I mean it this time.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

