Pizza and Ice Cream

It’s been quite a year thus far. I am now officially a part-time baker and I couldn’t be happier with where things are right now. Not only am I doing what I love, I have a constant supply of imperfect macarons in my freezer. Life is so hard.

I’ve been baking a lot of bread this year. Partly because it’s cheap, but mostly because the more I make, the quicker I can get better at it. I’m getting to the point where I can feel when a dough is too dry, too wet or just right, and there’s something really satisfying about that. I’ve also come to realize that a hot, crusty baguette with salted butter is truly a peasant meal fit for a king. Speaking of which, I’m fresh out…

You might think I’d be at least somewhat burned out on baking. Let me present evidence to the contrary:

pizza 1 (breakfast)

breakfast pizza – bacon, parmesan, eggs

pizza 2 (dinner)

dinner pizza – figs, bacon, goat cheese, balsamic vinegar

fun with shaping

fun with shaping pain de campagne – l-r: auvergnat (cap), baguette, tabatiére (pouch)

Anadama bread

anadama (cornmeal & molasses bread)

and for dessert:

Chocolate Sorbet

chocolate sorbet

torrone

torrone (Italian nougat)

Recently I’ve been giving seriously considering to pastry and bread programs, because I can’t see myself doing anything else. I love being able to see a product take shape and see the process through beginning to end. I have purposely attempted a wide variety of things, but still I’m at the very tip of the iceberg.There’s so much to know and that, coupled with the prospect of a lifetime of craftwork and creativity is something that is incredibly appealing to me.

But for now, I think another pizza is in order.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

